Views:

Browser Notifications are messages that come from a website. It allows you to get timely updates from sites you frequently visit. It lets website owners to send personalized messages to retain visitors.

However, some hackers may use these to send malicious or fake advertisements.

How do I know if it is fake?

  • After closing the notification, the same one will pop up again.
  • Pop up ads still appear even when your browser app is closed.

How do I get rid of it?

Change the notification settings on your preferred browser:

Expand All
Chrome on Android
Chrome on iOS
Safari on iOS

How do I prevent this from happening?

Always check the website from where the pop up is displayed and allow notification ONLY if you want to receive them.

See also

Comments (0)
Add a comment