Views:

Browser Notifications are messages that come from a website. It allows you to get timely updates from sites you frequently visit. It lets website owners to send personalized messages to retain visitors.

However, some hackers may use these to send malicious or fake advertisements.

How do I know if it is fake?

  • After closing the notification, the same one will pop up again.
  • Pop up ads still appear on your computer even when your browser is closed.

Fake Browser Notifications

Fake Browser Notifications

How do I get rid of it?

Update your Trend Micro progam to its latest program version:

  1. Right-click the Trend Micro icon Trend Micro icon in the taskbar notification area, then select Check for Program Updates.

    If you cannot see it, click the Show hidden icons arrow ^ next to the notification area.

    The About Your Software window will appear and check for available updates.

    Installing an Update

  2. Click Close after seeing Components are up-to-date.

    Latest Version Update: 17.7.1337

  3. Restart your computer.

    Once updated, your program can now scan your browsers and block notifications from dangerous websites so these pop up messages from these malicious sites will no longer appear.

Still not working?

  1. Run this hotfix:

    NOTE: This fix ONLY works on Google Chrome and Microsoft Edge browsers for Windows, and your computer should have the latest Trend Micro version installed.

    1. Download the hotfix here.
    2. Close all open browsers. Bookmark your opened tabs so you can visit them later.
    3. Double-click the downloaded file: Ti_1700_win_en_UnwantedNotificationBlockerFb_hfb1168.exe.
    4. Follow the prompts to install the hotfix.
    5. Once done, it will open a Notepad window showing all blocked malicious links that sends suspicious notifications on your browser.

      How to get rid of suspicious browser notifications on your computer - hotfix

    6. Restart your computer to apply the changes.
  2. Change the notification settings on your preferred browser:
    Expand All
    Google Chrome
    Mozilla Firefox
    Microsoft Edge
    Apple Safari

How do I prevent this from happening?

Always check the website from where the pop up is displayed and allow notification ONLY if you want to receive them.

Allow Notifications

See also

Comments (0)
Add a comment